By Emmi & Himani

Taekwondo came from Korea about 2000 years ago. It is a defensive art of self defense. Did you know that the uniform in Taekwondo is really called a dobok? The belts are white belt, yellow, orange, green, blue, purple, red, brown, red black, yellow black, black blue, red black and finally black belt. It takes two to three years to get good enough to earn a black belt.

In the Olympics the contestants must wear a body protector, forearm protection, shin guards and tooth brace that protects your mouth from getting hit. You wear a head brace too. It protects the head from damage. Then it's time to fight!

There are three rounds of three minutes each for men and three rounds of two minutes each for women. There is one minute between rounds. You can kick your opponent in the face or body but you can only punch the body. You can't kick or punch bellow the belt. The winner is decided by knock out, by points, or by penalties. 

In the Olympics there will be competitions for men and women. They are divided up according to weight. Taekwondo became an official Olympic sport in the 2000 Olympics.


Aquatics Canoeing Hockey Table Tennis
Archery Cycling Judo Taekwondo
Athletics Equestrian Modern Pentathlon Tennis
Badminton Fencing Rowing Triathlon
Baseball Football Sailing Volleyball
Basketball Gymnastics Shooting Weightlifting
Boxing Handball Softball Wrestling



This page was last edited December 02, 2005.

Pocantico Hills School
e-mail us at: